Sunday, October 2, 2011


Advance One Room School, New Carlisle, Ohio
Photo by R. Liptak
   On October 17, 1949, twenty-four retired teachers met in the Ohio Fuel Gas Company for the purpose of organizing an association for the mutual benefit of teachers who had entered retirement. Miss Eliza McBeth arranged the meeting.
   The following week at the second meeting, the name Clark County Chapter of the Ohio Retired Teachers Association was used.
   The first officers included: W.C. Ryan, president; Mary Thrasher, vice-president; Dora Kreis, recording secretary; M.L. Lavy, treasurer; Ruth Ferris and Eva Klinck, trustees.
   The first general membership meeting convened in March 1950. Annual dues were fifty cents. Meetings were held in members' homes, city schools, the Historical Society in the Memorial Hall, the Shawnee Hotel and the gas company.
   From the beginning, the organization dealt with issues such as pensions, insurance and legislature that concerned retirees.
  • To promote the economic and professional welfare of its members.
  • To support legislation intended to contribute to their well-being.
  • To foster good fellowship among the retired teachers of Clark County.
  • To encourage and recognize individual member's service to the community.
  • To cooperate with the National and Ohio Retired Teachers Association.
  • To mentor, administrate and support the Advance One Room School and the Clark County Retired Teachers Scholarship Fund.
Next Membership Meeting: September 19, 2019
Date: Thursday, September 19, 2019.
Meal Reservation Deadline: Friday, September 13, 2019.
Location: Courtyard Marriott, Downtown Springfield. 
Cost: $14.

Contact:  Jane Gicale, Luncheon Scheduling Chair.
Post Mail Form from Newsletter or
Right click or click to open  Luncheon RSVP Form.

Membership Meeting Schedule
Socialize: 10:30-11:00 a.m.
Business Meeting: 11:00 a.m.
Luncheon: 11:30 a.m.
Program: Following lunch.

For September 19, 2019:

   Swiss Steak with Brown Demi Sauce, Mashed Potatoes and Gravy, Tossed Salad, Rolls, Carrot Cake, Coffee, Tea.

Info Fair: 10:30-11:00
  Door Prizes Provided By:
   Springfield Symphony
   Springfield Arts Council
   Clark State Performing Arts
   Peter Stafford Wilson, Music Director of the Springfield Symphony.
   "Peter Stafford Wilson brings a unique versatility to his craft, being adept on the podia of symphonic, ballet, and education situations. Concurrently, he holds the post of Music Director of the Springfield (OH) and Westerville symphonies, and was named Principal Conductor of Tulsa Ballet in 2012. A native of North Carolina, Peter Stafford Wilson studied at the University of Cincinnati’s College-Conservatory of Music, where his primary mentor was Thomas Schippers. Since then he has shared his talents with orchestras, opera and ballet companies throughout the world."

Peter Stafford Wilson's web Site 



16th Annual 2019 Car Show

Saturday, October 19, 2019


Young's Jersey Dairy Meadow



General George Armstrong Custer and his wife joined us at the June meeting
at Shawnee High School pavilion.

Invite A Retiree 
to Membership Luncheon
   Do you know an educator who's recently retired or has yet to join us? Invite him or her 
to our next meeting.

Envelopes for Memorial Donations

     If an educator becomes deceased, CCRTA has donation envelopes that can be placed by the sign-in register at the funeral home.
   Those vistors wishing to make a donation to the One Room School or the Scholarship Fund in memory of the deceased can then give or send the envelope to our CCRTA treasurer, Nancy Rix. See Nancy to obtain these envelopes.
   Thank you.

One Room School Has Its Own Web Site

   To better publicize and inform anyone about CCRTA's Advance One Room School, a web site was built. It is full of photos, history, and educational and human interest details.
   From teachers interested in field trips to the general public, the web site helps share the significance of this very special CCRTA project.